Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question about Egg vs Gas Grill

wheelerm
wheelerm Posts: 4
edited January 2012 in EggHead Forum
Hi!

I am new to grilling and am planning to purchase a Big Green Egg because of all the wonderful things I have heard about it. However, I am really busy and it would be nice to grill up a steak quickly for dinner. My friend recommended a gas grill because he says it heats up much faster and is much more user friendly. What are the opinions out there about the pros and cons of a Big Green Egg vs a gas grill? How does the heat up time of the Egg compare with other charcoal grills?

Thanks

Comments

• psalzer
    psalzer Posts: 108
    Your Egg will be at 700deg about 15 minutes after you light it!! How does that compare with gas? I often cook. Burgers for lunch .... much faster than gas, a and much better!!!!
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Well, there are ashes left to clean out after using an Egg. And the Egg doesn't have a built in starter.

However, if a weed burner is used to start the lump, you'll get a fire hotter than a gas grill very quickly.  While I usually try to not rush to "lava" temps, there have been more than a few times that I went into the house for maybe 10 minutes and came out to a foot long blue jet shooting from the Egg exhaust.

And, it can be done in the dead of winter at minus -F. Try that with a gasser.
  • Hi54putty
    Hi54putty Posts: 1,873