Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

12/3/6/9/center????!!!!

Comments

• Photo Egg
    Photo Egg Posts: 12,110
    Very good point. Got to love DP.
    Thank you,
    Darian

Galveston Texas
  • I'm no pyro expert

u sure about that???

any new fire proof cameras lately :whistle:
  • 3-6-9 the goose drank wine ..... wait a minute that is not the question.

I light in two spots on mini and small, and three on my XL when using paper towels.
  • Photo Egg
    I use Lora's camera for all the stunt work. B)
    Plano is getting close. Are you booked?
    Thank you,
    Darian

Galveston Texas
  • Grandpas Grub
    Grandpas Grub Posts: 14,226

Several reasons I light in more than one spot; eliminate the potential for a vertical burn, less hot spots and I seem to burn less lump getting up to cooking temperature.

A few years back when I was testing the gaskets on my medium egg I found lighting in 1 spot as opposed to 2 spots (paper towel & oil) would use more lump getting the egg up to the 600° - 700° range which would also give me a longer burn time with the load of lump.

On the large lighting in one spot, center, I twice had vertical burns.

I find I have less hot spots if I light in multiple places.

Lighting in multiple spots seems to develop the natural air draw through the lump bed better/faster. This seems to get the egg stable a bit quicker.

Starter cubes, I use 3 maybe 4 spots, oil/napkin or alcohol just left and right of center. MAPP/Propane 3 to 4 spots. Like Mickey with the weed burner one single spot which ends up being the entire lump surface.

GG