Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

"GREEN" wood

Options
Rafter R
Rafter R Posts: 120
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Can you use "green" pecan or cherry wood for smoking or does it need to cure?

The only wood I recall ever being specifically told to avoid using "green" is mesquite, because it will have a bitter smell and taste to it and will put a bitter "seasoning" that will not go away on/in whatever you burn it in. Rule of thumb two years curing on mesquite. I am no expert, this is just what I have been told.

So, what say yee great EggHead community? Are there other "green" woods to avoid?

Comments

• SheepDog
    SheepDog Posts: 176
    Options
    RR I'm no BGE expert, but I'll throw my two cents out there if your interested. I think another big issue may be the amount of heat output. Trying to get "green" wood of any type to burn is a bear, especially without the use of an accelerant.
  • The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    Options
    I believe he was talking about using it as a smoking wood in chunks or chips, not as a fuel.
    The Naked Whiz
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Options
    Green is fine for smoke wood. I've never heard about mesquite issues, but I live in CT - I will never see any green mesquite! :)

I hate it when I go to the kitchen for food and all I find are ingredients!                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Michael