Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Green Egg Charcoal

Options
SEMS
SEMS Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a Green Egg newbie and I have a question about charcoal. I've been changing out my charcoal each time I grill to help ensure my Egg gets nice and hot to sear steaks. But, this week I'll be trying ribs. Can I use the older charcoal for this?

Comments

• transversalInactive
    Options
    That's one of the beauties of the Egg.....I never throw it out....I just keep adding to it. Good luck with your ribs. Let us know how they came out.
  • Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options
    You can use the older charcoal for steaks, too. It will burn just as hot as long as you give it a quick stir to knock the ash off and clear the air holes. The chemical composition of carbon doesn't change in between the cooks.
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Options
    welcome, sems. I don't remember the last time I removed any old lump from my egg. if there's not enough, I add more, but I never take any out. Just stir the old so the ashes fall thru the grate and pile more on top. Use a coat hanger or similar to poke up thru the bottom of the grate to open up any clogged holes.

I hate it when I go to the kitchen for food and all I find are ingredients!                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Michael 
    Central Connecticut 

• Adam Boca
    Options