Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
It doesn’t get much hotter than the EGG cookin’ in July! Make sure to keep yourself hydrated with a bit of whatever you’re using for the Beer Can Chicken. Ice Cream Sandwiches are also a great way to stay cool. Looking for some great ideas for a summer cook out? Try out a Pimento Cheeseburger or Dr. BBQ’s Spare Rib Surprise. Just don’t be surprised if your neighbors stop by for a quick bite when they smell what you’re cooking!

Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new showroom and check out the museum and culinary center too! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Turkey for Xmas

DeanDean Posts: 29
edited 11:24AM in EggHead Forum
Happy Holidays, all.
Like Mop, I am attempting my first Turkey on this important occassion. I studied these postings hard at Tgiving. My questions are:
1) How do I crips it? Just the olive oil, or should I jack up the temp at the end?
2) How do I remove the hot heavy bird once done?
3) how much am I losing by not smoking at all (can't find pecan chips locally - should have sent away)

·

Comments

• Dean,[p]I have EGGed a bunch of turkeys over the past six monthes. All I do is to brush the turkey with olive oil, stuff it with apples, celery, etc. Spray a V rack with olice oil. Put the turkey on the V rack. Place rack (with turkey) over a drip pan in the BGE. Stabilize temp at 325 and cook away. About 20+ minutes per lb. You can brush with additional olive oil it you wish. (I don't) It will come off with nice golden brown, cruncy skin. [p]