Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Turkey for Xmas

Options
Dean
Dean Posts: 29
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Happy Holidays, all.
Like Mop, I am attempting my first Turkey on this important occassion. I studied these postings hard at Tgiving. My questions are:
1) How do I crips it? Just the olive oil, or should I jack up the temp at the end?
2) How do I remove the hot heavy bird once done?
3) how much am I losing by not smoking at all (can't find pecan chips locally - should have sent away)

Comments

• Anthony Up North
    Options
    Dean,[p]I have EGGed a bunch of turkeys over the past six monthes. All I do is to brush the turkey with olive oil, stuff it with apples, celery, etc. Spray a V rack with olice oil. Put the turkey on the V rack. Place rack (with turkey) over a drip pan in the BGE. Stabilize temp at 325 and cook away. About 20+ minutes per lb. You can brush with additional olive oil it you wish. (I don't) It will come off with nice golden brown, cruncy skin. [p]