Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Meat Thermometer

Options
First, thank you to the forum and the input you all have provided.  I'm a BGE novice (at best) but with all of your help have been successful (at least semi-successful) with a couple beef and pork tenderloins and a butt.  So thank you.... and bear with me as a I learn the lingo...

I'm looking for opinions and feedback on a good meat thermometer, one to leave in the meat while cooking.  I already have a thermapen for instant checks.  In my brief research, I've read about the iGrill2, ThermoPro TP20 & Maverick (732??).  So any specific experience with these or any others ya'll have used; please share.

One specific question, is there a good one out there that works with apple devices?  iGrill has less than stellar feedback on the blue tooth capability... and apparently there are two versions (maybe more), Weber & iDevices?  Or is it best to forget that and stick with a Maverick/ThermoPro wireless function?

Thanks again.

Comments

• PrimoRidgeRanch
    Options
    Maverick has treated me well. It does have a wireless device with an alarm I keep around me with plenty of range. 
  • SoCalTim
    SoCalTim Posts: 2,158
    Options
    Thermoworks Smoke - about $100 .. 
    I've slow smoked and eaten so much pork, I'm legally recognized as being part swine - Chatsworth Ca.
  • smokeyw
    smokeyw Posts: 367
    Options