Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

apple firewood

Options
I recently got some apple wood, it was cut about 6 months ago. Can I chop that up for chips in the egg? Why buy in the store when it is sitting in wood rack....
Thanks for your help!

Comments

• theyolksonyou
    Options
    If it's been stored well and is dried out sufficiently, it should be fine IMHO. But, I'm no expert. I'm sure others will chime in.
  • SGH
    SGH Posts: 28,791
    edited December 2014
    Options

SueinNC said:
    Can I chop that up for chips in the egg?
    You absolutely can use it.

Location- Just "this side" of Biloxi, Ms.

Status- Standing by.

The greatest barrier against all wisdom, the stronghold against knowledge itself, is the single thought, in ones mind, that they already have it all figured out. 

• UrbanForestTurnings
    Options
    Just watch the cut ends if a chain saw was used. Bar oil may effect the taste.
  • bo_mull
    bo_mull Posts: 363
    Options
    Just watch the cut ends if a chain saw was used. Bar oil may effect the taste.
    I use a cheap electric chainsaw with no oil in it. (for cooking wood only.)

Cleveland, TN.

LG BGE, PSWOO2, Stoker WIFI.

• Fred19Flintstone
    Options
    I heard of somebody using an electric chainsaw and substituting the bar oil for veg oil. The saw is used to cut wood for smoking only. Maybe I read it. I don't remember.
    Flint, Michigan
  • shtgunal3
    shtgunal3 Posts: 5,663
    Options
    I use my chain saw to cut in to manageable size peices then cut smaller with a miter saw