Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Thin blue smoke and how to??

Options
Hi Guys~

So I'm still pretty new to smoking on this egg and smoking in general, and have a few questions.  My first question is how to achieve that nice thin blue smoke everyone wants to see.  When it's white thick smoke, does that mean the fire needs oxygen? If so, how would I go about fixing that?  Opening the top vent or the bottom vent?

Also, when do you add your wood chunks?  I have tried both when the fire is just getting going, and also after the grill gets to temp, I will remove the plate setter and throw 3 or 4 chunks on there, but that tends to give me that thick white smoke again...

Any answer would be greatly appreciate, thanks!

Kansas City, Missouri
Large Egg
Mini Egg

"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us" - Gandalf

Comments

• JRWhitee
    JRWhitee Posts: 5,678
    Options
    I put my wood chunks/chips when I start the egg and when the white smoke clears smell it, if it smells good you are ready if it smells like you just started a camp fire its not ready. The nose knows. 

Johns Creek, Georgia
  • NPHuskerFL
    NPHuskerFL Posts: 17,629
    Options
    Welcome to the egging addiction.
    For low and slow I mix the wood chunks in with the lump. Thick white smoke would typically indicate that you still haven't cleared the creosote (bad smoke). Good rule of thumb is if it smells good it's ready FWIW.
    GIF below is "bad smoke". "Good smoke" is noticeably different and to me it smells pleasant. Hopefully this helps ya out. imageimage