Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What i get for not reading the rules....

124»

Comments

• chamlin
    chamlin Posts: 19
    chamlin said:
    Hey guys, i have been doing pizzas on the egg for a few years, but i am growing tired of the task of getting the pizza from the prep surface to the stone itself.  A friend of mine says that he preps his on parchment paper.  Picks the whole damn thing up and leaves the parchment paper in the egg during cooking.  Has anyone had any luck with this?  Any suggestions?  I have always been successful at the transfer, but there has to be an easier way.

Appreciate your thoughts.
    That's exactly how I do it.  The only burning of the parchment is if you let it hang over the side.  I transport it on a cookie sheet, slide it on the stone with a corner of the paper, and do the reverse when cooked.  Works great for me.
    Thank you!  It made sense.  While i have your attention, do you have any tricks to getting a crispier crust?  I typically get the fire going pretty hot, allowing the plate setter and stone to get hot, then ill put the pizza on there for about 10-12 min.  It always taste good, but i would love to get it a little crispier.  My guess is that i may be leaving my dough too thick, or putting to many ingredients on it.  Again, any thoughts are appreciated.
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669
    I pull the paper after a couple of min's
    Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

• nolaegghead