Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

A big disappointment

Options
I have been cooking on my Lge BGE for 9 years, everything has turned out good, sometimes great.  Yesterday I was reading about brining so I thought I would try it.  I had a 5 lb. chicken that I quartered and brined for 6 hours in a pretty standard brine of 1/2 cup Kosher sale, 1/2 cup Sugar in a half gallon of water.  I rinsed it off and dried it and applied a dry rub and put it on the egg indirect at 350 to 375 deg.  In a little over an hour the leg quarters were at 180 deg plus so I pulled them and continued cooking the breast quarters for about 15 more minutes to 170 deg.  I was hoping for some very succulent, moist breast but they didn't turn out that way.  They were a little dry and tough, the thighs were also tough. What did I do wrong?

Comments

• Zippylip
    Zippylip Posts: 4,768
    edited October 2012
    Options
    first, 170 is too high for breast meat, go no more than 160.  Second, thighs typically take longer, yours seems backwards - your thermometer may not be accurate.  It's tough to make a thigh tough, I'm guessing all parts were way overcooked
    happy in the hut
    West Chester Pennsylvania
  • texasfiddlefan
    Options

I will check my thermometers. I was using the BGE thermometer for the dome temp, it has been checked in the past and has been accurate.  I used my thermopen for the meat temp and it has always been accurate but I will check it. 

These breast were really large and I wasn't suprised that they took longer than the thighs.