Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

After years of deliberation and due diligence

733102243 Posts: 38
edited October 2012 in EggHead Forum

I bit the bullet - (decisions can be painful), and pulled the trigger:

After a month-long flirtation with a PrimoXl - I bought a large BGE. It will be delivered Monday.

I'm not a noob as far as cooking goes but a total noob as far as ceramics go:

My original intent is to use the BGE for Pork - Butts, picnics, ribs etc. Low and Slow. Any advice on breaking-in? First cooks?

FYI - bought basic package: Large BGE, plate setter, nest, Daisywheel, etc. Plan to add some kind of extender, Stoker/CyberQ etc. but first things first... breaking-in. Should I cook something? Or just put some charcoal in, light it see how long it burns?

:-)

Thanks in advance

Comments

• vettman
    vettman Posts: 26
    Welcome to the BGE fraternity, I bought mine around Super Bowl time and broke mine in on a long 15hr Pork Butt.  I have a large and build a nice nest for it (wanted more stability) The Butt turned out great for my first, but cant take all the credit the Egg did all the work.  I was amazed at how it maintained 180 degree temp for that amount of time.  Pick out your fav meat and go at it and enjoy many years of fun and fellowship.
    Doug

Doug

LG, MiniMax BGE

• U_tarded
    U_tarded Posts: 2,041
    edited October 2012