Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

A newbie breaking in a new BGE!

Options
slovan
slovan Posts: 8
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Not only am I new to smoking, I am also new to BGEs! I would like to thank all of those that contribute to the forum. I have been lurking for awhile and I have learned a lot.

My wife bought me a large egg for a Father's Day gift because I have been looking at them for some time. Prior to finding out about BGEs, I was looking at a Weber Smokey Mountain smoker. In the end, I got something better than what I had originally wanted! B)

Anyway I decided to try my hand at smoking today. I wasn't ambitious enough to do a brisket yet but I did a pork shoulder and a whole chicken.

Here are pics from today's cookout.

Egg5.jpg

Egg7.jpg

Egg10.jpg

Egg12.jpg

Egg13.jpg

Egg14.jpg

Comments

• Little Chef
    Little Chef Posts: 4,725
    Options
    slovan...First, welcome! Second, how did you like the results?
    Don't be afraid of using your lump. You can fill to the top of the fire box, and still have room to spare. Just shut the egg down when your cook is done, and relight the lump for the next cook. Just shake the ash out, and you are good to go.
    Also, being it is on a wooden deck, I would SERIOUSLY consider buying a grill mat from one of your Home Improvement stores. And be sure to keep the screen on the bottom vent closed at all times to avoid an errant hot coal!!
    Enjoy the heck out of that new Egg!! You obviously have a great wife!! :)
    Again, welcome!