Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Woo 3, spider and extra grate

Options
Big Thunder
Big Thunder Posts: 12
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm new to the egg, but have about six cooks on it (just over a week :laugh: ). I even have a low and slow completed and I'm awaiting my first overnighter this weekend.

I've read that some use the spider to sear and the Woo 2/3 to raise the cooking surface. I'm looking at making a purchase here and was wanting your opinion. Will I actually get use from these accessories? Do they turn into a must haves vs. good to haves once my cooking repertoire increases? Thanks for your opinion.

Comments

• Memphistide
    Options
    I would use two firebricks or the Naked Whiz deal instead of spending that money to raise it.....see below

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/ceramicfaq.htm#raisedgrid
  • BayouMark
    Options
    A lot of it is a matter of what you are comfortable with. I have a spider that I use for WOK cooking and with a pizza stone with my adjustable rig. The Woo will hold a Wok and will put the grate at the felt line. My best advice would be to go to
    http://www.ceramicgrillstore.com/ceramicgrillstore/
    and look around in there to see how their products fit your cooking style and goals. To me me, the Woo was limiting but others may believe that is exactly what they need. Hope this helps ;)
  • Photo Egg
    Photo Egg Posts: 12,110
    Options