Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Mini in fireplace?

hornhonk
hornhonk Posts: 3,841
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've seen pics of minis in fireplaces. Are they safe to use that way? If so, how hot do you dare run them?

Comments

• I don't have that set-up.....but as a home builder I would say there is no problem at all with it. What is different about it vs an open fire? As long as you open the damper on the fireplace, my assumption would be that you can take it as high as you like in temp as well. I would also just guess that the temps would be somewhat limited on their own just based on the fact that you won't have the "outside" air helping to fuel the fire in the egg, but that may be a wrong assumption.
  • hornhonk
    Do you think there would be any grease build-up in the chimney that could cause a fire?
  • Grandpas Grub
    Grandpas Grub Posts: 14,226

As long as the fireplace is a fireplace and not an insert type set up.

I have never tried it but I would be concerned about the house having a wonderful campfire aroma.

GG
  • hornhonk
    I'm wondering if I should try it.
  • If there were to be any grease build-up at all it would be just above the Egg, as in right on the damper. However, even if it did build a little there, no it would not cause a fire hazard, imo.
  • carbon monoxide would be the worry for me.

charcoal inside? bad idea
  • Grandpas Grub

I wouldn't dare recommend one way or another as I don't know your fireplace. I wouldn't be concerned in mine, other than the aroma.