Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Thermometer accuracy

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am a BGE newbie and have a 7 lb. Boston Butt on right now. I have the digital BGE thermometer which has a meat probe and a smoker thermometer. The digital thermometer is reading almost 20 degrees lower than the dial on the green egg. Which should I go by? The dial is showing around 250 and the digital is just over 230. I'm shooting for 235 based on the Dr. BBQ Big time cookbook.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Celtic Wolf
    Celtic Wolf Posts: 9,773
    Options
    Both if the dome is calibrated.

There is a 20-30 difference between the dome and grate.
  • stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    go by dome temp. there's always a difference between dome and grid temps. when we say "250 dome", it's easier than saying "250 dome or 225 at the grid"
    ed egli avea del cul fatto trombetta -Dante
  • The grate should be higher, right? But the digital downm near the grate is reading lower so I'm confused. But I never calibrated the dome.
  • So the dome temp is higher than the grid? I would have thought the opposite since the grid is closer to the heat.
  • Woody69
    Woody69 Posts: 360
    Options
    Heat rises..... :)
  • Celtic Wolf
    Options
    No the dome is higher
  • Good thing I wasn't a physics major. ;)
  • stike
    Options