Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked Whole Turkey

Options
Ross in Ventura
Ross in Ventura Posts: 7,234
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I would like to smoke a whole Turkey. Need help with Brine, Temp, and smoking wood.
Ross

Comments

• EggZona
    EggZona Posts: 108
    Options
    I have been cooking rotisere turkeys on my Weber Kettle for 10 years now. I have never use a brine and they have been delicious. I just recently cooked a turkey on my BGE and did not brine it and the taste and mositure content was extremely better than the Weber did.

I am of the school of buying a name brand basted turkey. Such as a Butterball. They are packaged in a sort of brine. One year we got fresh turkeys. Right off the farm. I even brined them and there were not as good as the BB. If you are a fan of fresh then you have some work to do.

Have you read the Mad Max recipe? You should start and end there.

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/madmaxturkey.htm
  • Ross in Ventura
    Options
    Sam,
    Thanks for the information, I have done Max's Turkey, I want to Smoke one this year.
    Ross
  • Hoss
    Hoss Posts: 14,600
    Options