Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Notes and Tips from PA Eggfest (mostly newbie)

jimbotron
jimbotron Posts: 74
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Attended my first eggfest today (in PA), and bought my first egg (a medium). I took notes on all the tips and tricks I heard, and tonight I transcribed them, and figured I'd post them in case they're useful to anyone else. Since I'm a newbie, they'll likely only be interesting to other newbies, though! thanks to forumites bill and Zippylip for all their advice and help.

First, if you possibly can, make the effort to get to an eggfest before buying. You get to taste lots of dishes from lots of cooks, an invaluable experience, because you'll get a sense of versatility, plus you'll see the quality level to shoot for (since the cooks at these things are expert veterans).

Plus, BGE people are extraordinarily generous with their know-how. I got tons of advice (yeah, sometimes contradictory, but you have to expect that) just from my telling people I'm new to BGE. It's sort of like this forum, only live.

Finally, you can get discounts on eggs and accessories at these things. So, really, DEFINITELY hit an eggfest if at all possible if you're getting into this.

WISDOM

Try several different temperatures for any given food/recipe. All temperatures can work, it's just a matter of choice.

The BGE doesn't care about quantity of coal. Cooking with BGE is about air, not coal.