Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Can't get Boston Butt above 160?

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
This is my first time using the egg. I decided to smoke a 7.5 pound Boston Butt. I've done 5 to 10 pound BBs in a regular metal smoker with great success. My wife bought me a Large egg for my birthday after I had mentioned reading about it a few times. I was pretty excited to roll it out and get it going.[p]I think my first mistake was not adding the smoking wood in advance. I added the proscribed amount of BGE charcoal and heated it with an electric starter, then let it sit for a few minutes until I was seeing about 250 degrees (using a pair of RediChek wireless thermometers). Unlike a lot of folks around here (or so it seems from searches I've tried), we like a fairly heavy smoke flavor a lot. By not adding wood in advance, I created later problems for myself having to move the meat to get to the coals -- fortunately I was using the inverted-V thing and a drip pan, so it was do-able. I'll know better next time.[p]Anyway, after about 10 hours my Boston Butt had creeped up on about 157 or 158 at the center and stayed there. The ambient temp had been fairly steady, ranging from about 255 to a high of maybe 275. After an hour without any change at all, I started letting it creep up. Even sitting at a roasting 310 degrees, the temp just never went up.[p]At this point the BB has just come out of the oven at 350 "finishing" up. I figure it has absorbed more than enough smoke, and the BGE has certainly kept it juicy, but I'm ready to let it cool and get some