Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Vac Pack Pork Butt Questions

Options
Alfster
Alfster Posts: 1
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Ultra Noob here, I just got my BGE at Oklahoma Eggfest 2007. And I'm lovin' it![p]I'm getting ready to go camping and will not be taking my egg, but I wanted to take some Pulled Pork, so I've been doing some reading on here and had a couple of questions about Vac Packing a pork butt to take on the trip.[p]1) Is it best to seal the whole Pork Butt? or Pull it first then vac seal it?[p]2) When cooling it, is it best to freeze it and then seal? How is the best way to get it to a temp so it can be sealed?[p]3) When reheating (in simmering water? boiling water?) how long does this usually take?[p]4) Sauce before sealing and freezing? or just before eating? or Both?[p]5) Would this work for fatties as well?[p]Sorry for multitude of questions, but I would love to have pulled pork sandwiches by the lake during the camping trip.[p]Thanks,[p]Alfster

Comments

• Morro Bay Rich
    Morro Bay Rich Posts: 2,227
    Options
    Alfster,
    1. I pull before sealing.
    2. Just let it set at room temp until cool then seal.
    3. Heat in sealing bag in water. Time depends on mass in bag.
    4. I sauce after sealing otherwise it is too messy on the sealer.
    5. We don't eat fatties as we both have heart problems.

• GrillMeister
    GrillMeister Posts: 1,608
    Options