Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New XL Egg - air leak?

Options
Hey everyone - noob here. Just fired my brand new XL egg and it looks like there is a air leak at the gasket towards the back. Is this normal? Do I need to call the dealer? Is there an easy fix for this, if it is an issue? 

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,396
    Options
    Welcome aboard and enjoy the journey.  Above all, have fun.
    Now, regarding your questions:  (I have a LBGE but not XL but the following is applicable.)
    That's not a "looks like an air leak", that is an air leak and no it is not normal. 
    If the dealer assembled your BGE then I would tell them to come fix it as the base and dome are mis-aligned.  There is a fix as you need to loosen the band assembly and adjust using the blue spacers to get the dome and base on the same plane.  And while there, it looks like your band bolts could use additional tightening.  You should tighten them up until the bolts bend (can't really tell from the pic).  The bolts will fail before the ceramic (or so I have been told by my dealer).
    Is it an issue-depends on whether you can control the BGE in the temperature ranges you want and how long it take to shutdown after a cook. 
    All above-FWIW. 
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • WildmanWilson
    Options