Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

The authoritative info on BGE temp controls?

Options
Alpharetta_EggHead
Alpharetta_EggHead Posts: 13
edited November 2018 in EggHead Forum
I'm a newbie with an XL Big Green Egg. The biggest thing I'm struggling with in making the transition from my cheap grill to my BGE is ... temp controls. I'm all over the place. You were once in my shoes. Where did you first get guidance on learning the BGE temp controls -- or the bottom and top vents. I plan to spend a full day testing it out with charcoal only (no food), but I need some basic instructions to get me started. Is there a video, post, or article somewhere? Can you link it? Help!

I realize there are a lot of differentiating factors, such as size of the grill, amount of charcoal, how you stack the charcoal, outside weather, etc. I just need a starting point. PS I'm going to use my BGE 90% of the time for low temps/smoking. Thanks everybody in this community for being so welcoming. Michael C. in Alpharetta, Ga.

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,337
    Options
    First up welcome aboard and enjoy the journey.  Above all, have fun. I would say there is no "one size fits all" authoritative guide, however the following link has some good guidance:

Vent Settings, a Visual Guide