Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

help a new guy out.

@Eavasquez81  - ask you question on the forum.  The wall doesn’t get much activity. 

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.

Comments

• Nice of you Matt. How did you happen to find that?
    Snellville, GA

• Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Click on the activity button.  You have to be on a computer or tablet.  It doesn’t show on the phone 

analyze adapt overcome

• Thank Matt! sorry newbie here
  • Mattman3969
    No problem.  Get that turkey question in the public so we can help you out.  

analyze adapt overcome

• bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    Um, bump?
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • Mattman3969
    I’ll start it here since @doubleegger posted the question for turkey 

@Eavasquez81 - if you are going for presentation (whole bird) I would rub between meat n skin with some herb butter then EVOO with salt n pepper on the skin.  Cook about 325 indirect.  

If presentation doesn’t matter spatch the bird and rub with rub of choice.  I’m partial to coffee rubs for this style of turkey. I’d cook either at 350-375 indirect or 375-400 raised direct.  

Cook both way till breast hit 150-155 and thighs hit 180ish.    BTW with either way of eggin put the legs to the back of the egg.   If you use smoke use very little because poultry takes on smoke very easily so it’s easy to over smoke  

analyze adapt overcome

• I’ve never cooked a turkey on my egg but still wanted to bump your thread.