Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time cold smoking cheese. Questions.

Options
77bronco
77bronco Posts: 56
edited November 2017 in EggHead Forum
This is my first time cold smoking cheese. Will be using Amaz n smoker tube with hickory pellets in an XL BGE. Have a variety of cheeses. Was planning on smoking for about 2.5 hours. Will put smoker tube on charcoal grate, under plate setter with cheese on rack above. I’ve read some of the other threads, but have a couple questions. 

1. With the smoker tube,  how do you set the top and bottom vents on the BGE?
2. High temperature of 44 degrees here today. I  haven’t used the tube smoker yet, and am not sure how much heat it will generate. Do I need a tray of ice on the plate setter under the cheese?
3. What are everybody’s favorites?Has anybody smoked Bleu cheese? If so, how did it turn out?

Comments

• Stormbringer
    Options
    This is how I do cold smoking of cheese, there are some hints and tips in the blog post:

https://www.thecooksdigest.co.uk/2017/11/03/smoke-your-own-cheese/

To answer your specific questions:

1. Almost closed, the same as I would for cooking low n slow.
    2. You don't need ice, just put the platesetter in and the cheese on the grid over the platesetter.
    3. I prefer hard cheeses, we just had some smoked Old Amsterdam for lunch today, it was lovely. I have yet to find a blue cheese that works well with a smoke flavour, the search continues.

Good luck!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------