Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Eggmates composite or wood shelves?

Options
Bombshell
Bombshell Posts: 1
edited August 2017 in EggHead Forum
Im buying my first BGE tomorrow, yes I'm a newbie

Comments

• WeberWho
    WeberWho Posts: 11,027
    Options
    Welcome! Congrats! You will get mixed answers for mates. I like the look of wood mates better if you keep up with the maintenance on them. The composite is maybe a little easier to clean/maintain but maybe looks a little cheaper. Whatever you decide will be a win. The mates come in handy no matter which one you decide on
    "The pig is an amazing animal. You feed a pig an apple and it makes bacon. Let's see Michael Phelps do that" - Jim Gaffigan

Minnesota
  • td66snrf
    td66snrf Posts: 1,822
    edited August 2017
    Options
    Composite. No weathering no refinishing. I've had both and now all of my eggs have composite. Most importantly congratulations on your purchase and welcome to the club. 
    XLBGE, LBGE, MBGE, SMALL, MINI, 2 Kubs, Fire Magic Gasser
  • Ozzie_Isaac
    Ozzie_Isaac Posts: 19,086
    Options
    Composite here.  Only problem with composite is you cannot set hot things directly on them.  Aside from that, they are maintenance free except for occasionally hosing them down.
    A bison’s level of aggressiveness, both physical and passive, is legendary. - NPS
  • blasting
    blasting Posts: 6,262
    Options

Greetings and welcome.  Composite gets my vote for the mates.

Phoenix 
  • pgprescott
    pgprescott Posts: 14,544
    Options