Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pizza beginner

Options
jld
jld Posts: 63
I've been egging for almost 10 years, but I have almost no pizza practice. My wife just emailed her friends to come over on Friday to have grilled pizza. Help!

I have large egg and a plate setter. I'm happy to pick up a stone or a steel before Friday. I hear I'll probably also need a way to get the stone/steel 3-4" above the gasket with the plate setter in the egg.

So a few questions:
- Steel or stone? What diameter do I need to fit properly in the dome of my egg?
- What setup/temp should I use?
- What dough should I use?
- What style of pizza is tasty but also forgiving? How thick should it be pulled?
- Any other advice?

Comments

• calracefan
    calracefan Posts: 606
    Options
    Parchment paper, temp depends on the dough, plate setter legs up, grid then stone or even elevate stone a little more. After a couple of minutes you can remove the parchment paper, rotate pizza for even cooking. I have a BGE stone made for the large. Good Luck !
    Ova B.
    Fulton MO
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    Stone is fine.  Steel takes longer to dial in.  If you like making pizzas and various bread, consider a steel, but a stone is what I would start with.