Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Hinge and bands.

Options
g37
g37 Posts: 450
Just got the new hinge and band assembly design. This design seems a lot better it should cure my long time misalignment issues. Just wanted to share some pictures of it. 
Ewa Beach, Hawaii

Comments

• g37
    Options
    Ewa Beach, Hawaii
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,888
    Options
    Thanks for the post. Last weekend I was at my dealer buying some DP rub and I saw an XL with the new band. I grabbed it and still about strained a gut opening it! Since I have had little experience opening an XL with an older band then I'm clueless how to believe that new band is a game changer! But like I said...I have had little experience with an older XL band.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • SemolinaPilchard
    SemolinaPilchard Posts: 1,282
    edited March 2017
    Options
    Should be a lot less twisting with the new bands. With the old ones connecting to both sides of the egg just inches apart and supporting all that weight it was easy for it to twist and mess up the alignment. Thanks for posting the pic.
  • g37
    Options
    Sorry guys this is the new large band and hinge assembly.  
    Ewa Beach, Hawaii
  • SemolinaPilchard
    Options
     mg37 said:
    Sorry guys this is the new large band and hinge assembly.  
    Yes, I believe the new band first came out for the XL. The ones for the large just came out.
  • g37
    edited March 2017
    Options
    Love it my dome and base are aligned once again.  No more smoke leaks.  
    Ewa Beach, Hawaii
  • stompbox