Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Dome alignment - should I get this fixed?

Options
Newbie here - just had my BGE delivered and setup, I wasn't home at the time, noticed the lid and the base are about 1/4 inch misaligned at the front (underbite). Is it worth calling the store and getting them to come back out?

Comments

• CheeseheadinAZ
    Options
  • Scottborasjr
    Scottborasjr Posts: 3,494
    Options
    I would especially if a fully assembled egg was assumed with the purchase. Many dealers sell them unassembled because they are much easier to transport. 
    I raise my kids, cook and golf.  When work gets in the way I'm pissed, I'm pissed off 48 weeks a year.
    Inbetween Iowa and Colorado, not close to anything remotely entertaining outside of football season. 
  • keepervodeflame
    keepervodeflame Posts: 353
    edited July 2016
    Options
    A lot of good dealers out there, but some who don't have a clue. I would watch what they do and ask questions. If they tell you the dome just needs a little tweak  to bend the hinge into alignment, not so good. Should be a band and hinge adjustment with out any need to bend or tweak. 
  • tubulus
    tubulus Posts: 4
    Options
    OK will call the store...I assume it should be perfectly aligned or is a little over/underbite unavoidable?
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,888
    Options
    Personally for 1/4" I wouldn't bother! While these are ceramic, they are not fine porcelain China. I wouldn't be surprised if your dealer refuses.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Tony_T
    Tony_T Posts: 303