Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help with a Goose and Duck

Options
Hi All, 
  I am preparing to cook a duck and goose for the first time tomorrow. These are farm raised birds 12lbs and 5lbs respectively. I have no experience cooking duck or goose and would love some input. I searched the forums and the latest info that I found was from 2013 and would love to know if there are any new tips or updates. 

Both birds are sitting in a brine of buttermilk with a touch of vinegar and lemon juice now. I don't know that brining is necessary on a farm bird, but it can't hurt right? My plan to to rinse off the brine today and marinade in orange juice and bourbon until ready to cook tomorrow. I have cut small slits in both birds to allow the brine and marinade  to soak in and and the fat to cook out. I plan to cook the goose on a v-rack and the duck on a vertical roaster most likely. 

Can anyone give me insight as to how much time to allow for each bird, cooking temp, and final desired breast temp? 
I will probably cook them separately unless both will fit on the egg with a generous drip pan underneath. 

I am feeding 50 people tomorrow and plan to smoke butts over night and then place the birds on at some point tomorrow after the butts come off. I will be using hickory for the butts but I assume there will not be much hickory smoke left after an all night burn. I plan to either go with no additional wood or add some cherry to the egg before adding the birds. Do you think there will be enough residual hickory to over power the birds? 

Any help appreciated 

Comments