Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question on daisy wheel temp regulator

Options
Hi All, 
I am relatively new to the Egg world, and noticed that my Daisy Wheel Regulator is gumming up with a tarry substance. What is it and do I need to worry with removing it?  Appreciate any input. 

Comments

• shtgunal3
    shtgunal3 Posts: 5,660
    Options
    Just throw it in the egg after every cook and don't worry about it.

LBGE,SBGE, and a Mini makes three......Sweet home Alabama........ Stay thirsty my friends .

• blind99
    blind99 Posts: 4,971
    Options
    No need to clean it off. Smoky gunk. 

Welcome to the forum!
    Chicago, IL - Large and Small BGE - Weber Gasser and Kettle
  • SoCalTim
    SoCalTim Posts: 2,158
    Options
    Use a scraper to get it off. If it gets too gummy, put it in the pit when your done egging. You can even take the part that swivels off if you really want to scrape it good.
    I've slow smoked and eaten so much pork, I'm legally recognized as being part swine - Chatsworth Ca.
  • logchief
    logchief Posts: 1,415
    Options
    Hey Welcome, like @shtgunal3 said.  Post some cook pics.
    LBGE - I like the hot stuff.  The big dry San Joaquin Valley, Clovis, CA 
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,897
    Options
    that is creosote - a common byproduct carried off in the smoke with the rising heat. Besides the remedies mentioned so far an occasional bath in household ammonia overnight will also do the trick.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Darby_Crenshaw
    Darby_Crenshaw Posts: 2,657
    Options