Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New to the forum/Ribeye Rub

Options

Hey everyone, been a lurker for some time and wanted to finally sign up.  I've had my egg for almost 2 years now and absolutely love it.  I've never done a steak on it before mainly because my wife doesn't eat red meat so I rarely eat steak unless we are out to dinner.  Anyways, tomorrow is my birthday and I picked up a nice 20oz ribeye I am going to do on the egg.  I've read a few things about how to cook it- 500-600 degrees, 2 minutes on each side, wrap in foil and let it rest for 8-10 minutes for a nice medium rare.  I'm open to any suggestions on how to improve it or make it better so please don't hesitate. 

The thing I am looking for the most is an amazing ribeye rub.  I've got a beautiful piece of meat and part of me says just do some salt and pepper but the other part of me says let's do this right and make it amazing.  Any good rubs you think which will elevate the steak to a different level?  I've already got a garlic butter ready to go to put on top. 

Thanks in advance everyone! 

Comments

• pgprescott
    pgprescott Posts: 14,544
    Options
     Not being familiar with your tastes, I would suggest keeping it simple with course salt and pepper. Let it sit for an hour with the SP on it.