Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time short ribs (pic heavy)

Options
SciAggie
SciAggie Posts: 6,481
This is my first time cooking short ribs. I've been motivated by all the recent posts. It took a while to find a butcher that could get them for me - I had to travel 30 miles to a nearby town but what the heck, right? My wife got some Blue Bell ice cream too so it was worth the trip for groceries. 
I seasoned the ribs with Kosher salt and course black pepper. I have Rockwood lump and hickory chunks in the egg. I am also using the force...

Stay tuned for more...
Coleman, Texas
Large BGE & Mini Max for the wok. A few old camp Dutch ovens and a wood fired oven. LSG 24” cabinet offset smoker. There are a few paella pans and a Patagonia cross in the barn. A curing chamber for bacterial transformation of meats...
"Bourbon slushies. Sure you can cook on the BGE without them, but why would you?"
                                                                                                                      YukonRon

Comments

• NPHuskerFL
    NPHuskerFL Posts: 17,629
    Options
    Coming right along man. 12th man? Seachickens Fan?
    LBGE 2013 & MM 2014
    Die Hard HUSKER & BRONCO FAN
    Flying Low & Slow in "Da Burg" FL
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,332
    Options
    Looking great so far.  Don't know your dome temp but at around 250-260*F on the dome I have seen those ribs take as much as 7 hours to "probe like buttah".  And they beat their pork cousins every time.  Enjoy the eats.