Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Low Temp Control

Options
I'm very new to the BGE having only purchased a large egg earlier this month.  This past weekend I tried cooking a pizza and slow cooking a leg of lamb. For the pizza I had a rough time getting the temp above 600 and for the lamb initially I was able to maintain the temp at 325 / 350 however after an hour or so it creeped up to over 400.  In one of the earlier forms I noted someone stated to just about close the drafts top and bottom.  Can someone educate me on just how far to close the vents top and bottom for temp control.  Is one more important than the other.

Comments

• SoCalTim
    SoCalTim Posts: 2,158
    Options
    Hi @halibut350 .. you want to 'catch' the temp on the way up. For example, if your target temp is 350 ... fire up your egg, watch the temp slowly rise.

When the temp hits about 300 adjust the top vents. For me, the bottom vent will be about 1" open and the top will be open 1/2 inch - maybe less, you'll need to feel things out.

As far as pizza temp, maybe someone else can chime in as that's not a strong point for me.

Now .. if you want to talk 'tri tip', I'm all ears.
    I've slow smoked and eaten so much pork, I'm legally recognized as being part swine - Chatsworth Ca.
  • bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    Options
    Check out the search box on the upper right corner and input temperature control.  You'll find all you could ever want. Welcome and good luck!
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • TexanOfTheNorth
    TexanOfTheNorth Posts: 3,951
    Options