Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

FlameBoss 200 Reveiw

BearQ
BearQ Posts: 174
Got my hands on the new wireless Flame Boss pit controller at the Toronto Eggfest thanks to Dicksons whom imported some into Canada. I've been resisting a controller on my pits for a few years as I wanted to learn control without them, however in the end I'm a gadget guy and the Flame Boss 200 had all the features to entice that part of me and a pretty good price comparatively in the market. I had my first opportunity to try it out on a brisket cook and thought I'd share my first impressions with ya'll eh. 

I like the overall look of the unit, it's uncluttered & has all pertinent information on one screen that is backlight for easy reading in the dark. You can adjust pit temp there and other screens allow you to set a timer for various cook staging requirements, set the meat done temperature and optionally instruct the unit to lower the pit temp once the meat reaches done. It has an open lid feature that detects a sudden change in temp and prevents the fan from ramping up, you can see this in the chart below at about 8:50 also a picture shows "Open" indicated on the home screen. You need to close the Egg right down as far as air flow, my DFMT daisy wheel was open about the width of a dime and was too much as you can tell from the chart. When the fan was controlling the temp it was dead on the set point, when the egg got to hot from to much air coming in, the fan output was zero, I need to close it down more next time so the fan can do all the work.
And now for the cool stuff.