Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Egg lighting

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I normally use the BGE brand or quick starters, but it seems to be a very long process for me. I am still kind of new to the BGE world(about 5 to 6 months), but from finding this web forum I have learned quite a bit about using my egg. The only problem I am still a little inexperienced about is the lighting. I use to fill the fire box and the use a couple of bricks to try and light the grill. The last time I used the grill I started with just a few coals and added to it, but i ran out of lump 20 minutes before I was done with a cook. Maybe I didn't fill the fire box up enough, not really sure. Could it be my lighting process? Also, I've been in the archives, and saw people talking about the Mapp torches. Could one of these help me with learning to beter light my egg, or maybe a chimney starter? Just looking for hints on how to get better and faster. Thanks for any help you have.

Comments

• CJ
    CJ Posts: 50
    Options
    Pressed Meat,
    I've also just been at it for about 6 months. What I've had some success with is to kind of sort through the charcoal that is left from the last Cook, pick out the smaller stuff, add new as needed, light the 'small stuff' in a chimney-starter, then add to the Egg. You want the charcoal to be at the top of the fire-ring.
    Good luck...

• MakoBBQ
    MakoBBQ Posts: 230
    Options
    Pressed Meat,