Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pizza Stone

I am brand new to the green egg and by no means am I ready to do a pizza in it yet, but I was wondering if you could use a normal pizza stone you would use in the oven in the green egg?? Thanks!

Comments

• Ladeback69
    Ladeback69 Posts: 4,482
    I've haven't done pizza yet, but I was told that the ones like at Bed Bath Beyond or Walmart couldn't handle the higher heat like the one from BGE or Ceramic Grill Work's. I am thinking of trying to do some soon.
    XL, WSM, Coleman Road Trip Gas Grill

Kansas City, Mo.
  • jhl192
    jhl192 Posts: 1,006
    Pizzas on the BGE are great and well worth the extra insurance that the BGE pizza stone gives you.
    XL BGE; Medium BGE; L BGE 
  • DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Certainly don't use your wife's Pampered Chef stone. That was my plan but luckily I saw others that had theirs shatter before I did. I got the BGE stone.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • NPHuskerFL
    NPHuskerFL Posts: 17,629
    BGE stone here. First dozen or so pies I used my wife's Pampered Chef stone and was fortunate it did not shatter it (it is very seasoned and very black now ;-) ).
    LBGE 2013 & MM 2014
    Die Hard HUSKER & BRONCO FAN
    Flying Low & Slow in "Da Burg" FL
  • Mama Roneck
    Mama Roneck Posts: 386
    edited June 2014