Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

9 Hour 2.65 lb Brisket ...?

Options
BKRonline
BKRonline Posts: 22
edited May 2014 in EggHead Forum
I'm new to the EGG, BBQ in general, and this forum but have read a ton of threads here and want to thank you all for your awesomeness.

This is my first post, be gentle... on to the topic!

My wife brought home a 2.65 lb brisket and we thought it would be great to do our first slow and low on our LBGE (first ever actually). In a nutshell, it took 9 hours (thought it would take 4-5), was fairly dense and tough, and we have no idea why.

Setup
  • Large Big Green Egg + nest + mate
  • Big Green Egg Plate Setter, legs up
  • Drip Pan, filled with water, large enough size for the meat (I'm not so sure about filling with water after this...)
  • Big Green Egg stock grid
  • Big Green Egg BBQ Guru DX2
  • Big Green Egg Natural Lump Charcoal, filled to the top line of the fire box
  • Big Green Egg Natural Charcoal Starter
  • Hickory chunks spread around the parameter of the coals (Smoke generation was not plentiful, most of the time there was no smoke at all. I now know to layer them more in the center, not all the way out to the edge)
  • ThermoWorks Thermapen, to test against the BBQ Guru when thought to be done
Our Thoughts
  • Keep it simple
  • Take the meat out of the fridge an hour prior to the cook
  • Lightly score the fat-cap
  • Liberal application of "Rub #67" on all sides (from Dr. BBQ, see below)
  • Put it on the EGG fat-cap up at stabilized 225 grid temperature until internal meat temperature is 185 F
  • Don't peek!