Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Questions about my first not-so-smokey brisket on my new BGE!

I'm new to the egg and have used it twice now.  I've been an occasional smoker :) as I smoke a few times a year in my gas grill using indirect heat and a smoker box. (pork shoulder, ribs and wings)  I bought the large BGE hoping for more "set it and forget it" results and even better tasting food.

This is a long one, but in the end, I really just want to know the best way to smoke in the BGE and and some tips on setting/maintaining a low temperature.  Here we go...

For the first use I cooked a chicken per the recipe/technique on the BGE website.  Came out very good.  Juicy.  Crisp skin.  Best chicken I've ever made (but I commented to my wife that it wasn't better than those rotisserie chickens you buy at Peruvian stands...man those are good.)

On Monday's snowday I decided to take advantage of the free time and make a brisket!

I read a few online posts and watched some videos and decided on a 5 lbs. brisket- at 1.5 hours per pound (some say small ones will cook quicker!) should have taken me <7.5 hours.  With a 2 hour rest in the cooler I'd be eating delicious brisket around 7:PM with a 10:AM start...fantastic!   I bet you can guess where this is going...

...once I had it on the BGE I killed some time between snowplay watching more brisket cooking videos, reading posts, and found out that for many of you even a small brisket can take 12-15 hours.  At 5:PM I decided I was better served getting pizza for the wife & kids.  :)