Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Overnight Smoke Temp Drop

I have been cooking on the egg for two months and for whatever reason I can't quite seem to find the sweet spot. I am 8hrs into smoking a 10 lb butt and my surface temp has dropped to 180. At 4:30 am it was 240. I am using the Maverick and feel comfortable it is accurate. Why would my temp drop so low? Next question. My daisy wheel has jammed. It won't rotate. I wanted an egg more than anything in the world and to date I have not worked out the kinks. Please help me! I have a big smoke coming up and I don't want to use my WSM.

Comments

• How much have you been adjusting the temp? If you are messing with it quite a bit then it has probably just settled. Set the temp and don't worry if it goes up 10-15* it will eventually settle back to where you had it. If you aren't messing around with the temp then I am not sure why it would drop like that, never really had that issue. Take your daisy wheel off and run some warm water through it. I'm on my phone so I can't see signatures, where are you located? Is it cold?
    Pure Michigan
    Large BGE, Medium BGE, Mini BGE, Weber Smokey Mountain, Weber Performer.
    If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.
  • jerryp
    jerryp Posts: 232
    I'm a big fan of my automatic temperature controller. Takes the stress out of overnighters. Many to choose from in many price ranges. They all work pretty much exactly the same. Big differences are the bells and whistles.
  • KRSIIII
    KRSIIII Posts: 19