Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Using the dutch oven inside versus on the BGE

Options
clintmiller
clintmiller Posts: 147
edited July 2012 in EggHead Forum
I'm a new BGE owner, and I'm absolutely loving cooking on it. In the 2 weeks since I got the BGE, I've done burgers, steaks, pizza, brisket, bbq beans, and peach cobbler. The food coming off the BGE is awesome.

I'm also brand new to dutch oven cooking. It seems like there are basically 3 ways I could use a dutch oven: 1) on the BGE, 2) in the kitchen oven, or 3) directly over a pile of coals with more coals piled on the lid (like you see in those fancy youtube videos). I'm having a hard time finding information on the advantages and disadvantages of each approach.

Clearly, there's a coolness factor to cooking outside with approach #1 and #3. But does the food come out tasting any different? If I cook on the BGE with the dutch oven lid open for a bit, the food probably takes on a bit of a smoky taste, which would be a nice benefit. But if the recipe calls for keeping the lid closed, is there any benefit to cooking on the BGE versus inside in the oven?

Cooking in the kitchen oven has the benefit of being able to cook something like beans in the dutch oven at the same time I'm doing a brisket outside. But, I'm not sure if the beans would cook better outside.

I've googled around quite a bit trying to find a comparison of using a DO inside versus outside, and haven't been able to find anything. What's your experience with this?

Comments

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,749
    Options