Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

small brisket for small BGE

Options
bobinaz
bobinaz Posts: 44
edited March 2012 in EggHead Forum

Hi all. It has been many moons since I posted here. I have never done a brisket before and I want to cook it on my small BGE. The brisket is a 2.75 lb flat cut. Seems most all of the posts here about briskets mention the large BGE. Any tips about cooking a small brisket in a small egg? I plan on cooking indirect.... although I don't have a platesitter (yet) for my small....I'll figure out something. I plan on putting a rub on it tonight, then early am start up the small BGE...set to ~250...... I do have a temp probe.....should I wait for a few hours to insert it, or put it in at the begining and wait for the internal temp to reach ~185 - 190? Since it is a smaller brisket I figure the small egg should be able to hold enough lump for the cook. Thanks for any tips and suggestions.

BoB

Comments

• woody's wood pit
    Options

charcoal will not be your problem...put in the probe to start and watch your temp on both the egg and brisket...could start at about 225 and then let it come up if you need to..dont forget the wood for smoke during the first few hours...good luck (i have never had it with a flat but you hear about it all the time on the forum)

let us know how it turns out...

Rockwall Texas, just east of Dallas where the humidity and heat meet! Life is too short to get caught in the fast lane behind somebody slow!

XL, LG, Sm, Mini and Weber for drink holder

• R2Egg2Q
    R2Egg2Q Posts: 2,136
    Options