Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

brisket at 200

Options
zhper
zhper Posts: 1
edited November 2011 in Root
I'm a rookie.  First brisket, 6 lb flat, mango chutney glaze recipe in
BGE cookbook.  Tried to keep the egg at 200 per recipe, but battled for 3
hours and finished an hour early at 197 internal temp.  Tasty but not
nearly as moist as I had hoped but I did spill the juices from the foil
wrap.  Where can I improve this next time?  Thanks!

Comments

• BBQMaven
    BBQMaven Posts: 1,041
    Options
    zhper,
    Brisket is a different cook than most and each one cook a little different. First, I'd never try 200, most Eggs settle at 250 and cruise without problems. At 200 dome, your grate temp (indirect) is only around 170-180. Second, I pull my briskets when the meat began to tear apart with a "fork twist" test. Sometimes 185 and others closer to 200. I've even had some that I took to 205 before they started tearing. Cook too long and the difference means moist meat turning to dry meat.  
    Kent Madison MS
  • Squeezy
    Squeezy Posts: 1,102
    Options

That has to be the worst recipe for brisket I've ever seen ... a sweet glaze on beef? ... only 1 hr on the grill before 'foiling' for the remaining time ... and 200º on the egg?

There are tons of good recipe/methods available, this one is the worst yet!

Try not to spill the juices next time ... ;)  ... and welcome to the forum!

Never eat anything passed through a window unless you're a seagull ... BGE Lg.
  • Shiff
    Shiff Posts: 1,835
    Options
    Large BGE
    Barry, Lancaster, PA
  • Greygoose