Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Gadgets for the new guy

Options
Cschric
Cschric Posts: 1
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm new to the green egg, what are the most important accessories for the egg. I already have the place setter and the pizza stone. I'm thinking of a cast iron grill and a wireless thermometer. Summer is coming and I'm read to start. Thanks to everyone for being patient with the new person.

Comments

• Crimsongator
    Crimsongator Posts: 5,797
    Options
    Cast iron is nice but very pricy for a large egg. A thermapen would be handy to have for checking quick temps. A wireless thermo is handy for a quick glance without opening the egg. The talking ones like Rolling Egg has are the bomb. It even told him last Thursday that he left his truck door open and drained his battery :P
  • TRPIV
    TRPIV Posts: 278
    Options
    ThermaPen - $95.00
    Maverick ET-732 - $59.00
    Ash tool - $20.00 (?)
    Wiggle Rod - $20.00 (?)
    Third Hand / three finger dealio - 25.00 (?)

That's about it.

Oh, not sure where the name came from, but I think it's a "Plate" setter, not a "Place" setter.

Calibrate your dome temp gauge and go for it!

Ted
  • Fire Walker
    Fire Walker Posts: 241
    Options