Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

flanks, flaps, tritips and hangars

Options
Doug in Eggmonton
Doug in Eggmonton Posts: 1,999
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
And don't forget flat irons. Anyone have a good description of all of these cuts and how we cook them on the egg? I had a horrible experience going after flap steak after that glorious meat Little Steven served us a Nieggara. That left me looking for an alternate, I ended up with flank for the similar texture, but I have no experience with the other cuts.

Doug

Comments

• thirdeye
    thirdeye Posts: 7,428
    Options
    Is flap the same as a skirt steak?
    Happy Trails
    ~thirdeye~

Barbecue is not rocket surgery
  • Doug in Eggmonton
    Options
    As I understand it the flap is in-between the tri tip and the flank down there in the bottom sirloin. Not that my butch would know :angry:.

Doug
  • Little Chef
    Options
    Doug...May be more than you wanted to hear.... :laugh:
    Pretty much every steak you named is a particular muscle isolated within the primal. Also, any guideline I provide is based on how we like our steaks, which is med rare....

Flank Steak....From the flank, or rear belly section just before the rear legs. Can marinate, or not. Sear direct...pull at 120-122, tent with foil, let rest at least 5 minutes, cut on the bias, against the grain.