Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Granite Piece

Options
BoneDaddy's
BoneDaddy's Posts: 257
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
So I want to use a granite piece under my egg to handle the heat and a matching piece on top for a hot plate. My question is, is the 1/4 inch piece you can get at HD or Lowe's for $5 thick enogh for under the egg? Maybe 2 piece with a small spacer?

Also, for the under piece is 12x12 or 12x16 preferred
Bone Daddy's Competition BBQ & Catering

Comments

• The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    Options
    I'm not an expert, and I didn't even stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but I'd be worried about the heat. I vaguely remember reading that you shouldn't put hot pots/pans on a granite work surface in the kitchen? However, I know a few people have used granite, based on photos I've seen here, so some of them should speak up soon and tell you their experience.
    The Naked Whiz
  • lowercasebill
    lowercasebill Posts: 5,218
    Options
    i vote no. for under the egg. i suspect that the peice under the egg will crack form just the weight of the egg unless it is set in mortar. . go to the local granite counter top place the have great scraps that they throw out , the pieces they cut out for sinks are perfect size for your egg
  • ccbassking
    ccbassking Posts: 71
    Options