Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First Sear - can\'t get past 400 degrees!

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm trying my first sear - turned over my charcoal, made sure the holes aren't blocked. Vents have been wide open for almost an hour, but the temp is stuck at around 400. (We are also having a bit of a rainstorm, and I have no cover for the daisy wheel.)

I have never tried to get the fire over 400 before but I'm a little concerned the temp isn't rising. Have I built the fire wrong? Charcoal is up and covering the side air holes and it would appear (I peeked) that only the core of the charcoal is glowing - what do I do to get things going?

Comments

• Celtic Wolf
    Celtic Wolf Posts: 9,773
    Options
    Two things come to mind. The large opening in the bottom of the firebox is not lined up with the bottom vent or you don't have enough lump in the egg.

Regardless of whether you are doing a lo and slow or a hot and fast you should always fill the firebox up to the level of the fire ring.

If you have that daisy wheel on the temp will not get up to 600 degrees. Rain or not rain take the daisy wheel off.
  • Unknown
    Options
    opening and the vent are lined up - probablyl 90 percent plus.

I'm taking the wheel off - thanks so much...
  • Stanley
    Stanley Posts: 623
    Options
    FWIW, I've gone over 700° w/ daisy wheel on (wide open) my MBGE.
  • lowercasebill
    lowercasebill Posts: 5,218
    Options
    how long have you been cooking on this egg??? you may have ash build up between the egg and the fire box?
  • Celtic Wolf