Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Rising Temp Problem

Options
I have been using my large egg for about 3 years and love it.  I typically smoke on a pellet grill (GMG) or the egg with a Guru attached.  In an attempt to get better at controlling a low temp for a long period of time without aid of the Guru, I tried to smoke some ribs at a temp of 180 for 5 hours followed by a 3 hour cook at 225.  I had an Igrill remote thermometer attached to watch the temps without being tempted to open the lid.  I started the grill the typical way, I use a heat gun, and started 3 very small areas.  I was very cautious not to light too many coals to avoid overshooting the temp.  I left bottom vent opened 1/2 way and until it reached 140 degrees.  I started shutting it down at that point, until we hit 180.  At that time, I had just a sliver open, about 1/16 of an inch and the daisy wheel about 1/2 inch open. This took about 45 minutes to get to this temp, so I was confident, I didn't light too many coals.  I loaded up the ribs and monitored.  It did dip when i loaded, but eventual settled back at 180.  But from there, it continued to rise very slowly.  1 degree every 5 minutes or so.  I let it thinking it would settle, but it didn't.  i let it go to 215, and eventually closed the bottom vent completely.  It still climbed, at 225, I took out the ribs and switched to the pellet.  I closed the daisy and watched the temp.  It did fall after closing the top, but slowly.  I switched back to the egg after the first 5 hours so that I could cook it at the higher temp.  but opening even a little, t