Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What is the correct temperature to cook chili?

Options
I'm brand new to the egg world. I've only used it a couple of times but I really want to try to cook as much as I can on the egg to learn as many techniques as I can. My Girlfriend makes a mean chili. I want to cook it on the egg thinking it may give it a nice flavor. My question is, what it the best temp to cook it and for how long? Also, what are the best flavored chips to use with it? 

Comments

• GrillSgt
    GrillSgt Posts: 2,507
    Options
    That would depend on if you want to go start to finish on the egg or simply finish. I prefer option 2. Have everything cooked and in the cast iron dutch oven and then go uncovered to the egg indirect at a fairly low temp, say 250-275. Don't use fruit woods. I've been partial to pecan lately but a chunk of hickory or a couple of oak would also do. Stir fairly often to distribute the smoke flavor if that's what you're after. Maybe 2-3 hours. It's quite forgiving and just depends how smoky you want. Give us a report.
  • Davidevan23
    Options
    Thanks. I'll give that a shot. I don't have a Cast Iron Dutch Oven, but I do have a heavy duty, restaurant quality stainless steel pot. Will that work?
  • Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    Options