Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

ABT questions....

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm an ABT rookie, only cooked them twice but:
1. Do you split the pepper in halve or just cut one side and open them like a book to remove the spines and seeds?
2. Do you always use cream cheese. I'm not a huge cream cheese fan so I tried to used shredded cheese and of course, it melted out.
3. Do you grill the ABT's on all sides or just the top and bottom so the cheese won't run out.
I cooked 24 for appertizers and everyone loved them, I want to get better. Thanks.

Comments

• egret
    egret Posts: 4,170
    Options
    LandDawg,
    Here's my take on these. Cheese of your choice shouldn't melt out if you follow these suggestions ;[p]This is the most basic version of the famous ABT’s. Several people asked me about the ABT’s I prepared at the Florida fest, so I’ll tell you how I do these and offer a few hints.[p]Ingredients :[p]• 12 Jalapenos - fresh (3-3.5 inches each)
    • 1-8 ounce pack of cream cheese
    • 12 oz. bacon (regular sliced-NOT thick sliced)
    • 1 pack smoked cocktail wieners (Lil' Smokeys)
    • Dizzy Pig Red Eye Express rub[p]Preparation :