Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Spatchcock chicken

Options
I'm a newbie, so please bear with me. I did my first spatchcock chicken yesterday. Grilled it at around 375degrees on direct heat for just over an hour. While the flavour was excellent, the bottom of the bird was charred. 

Comments

• Biggreennessy
    Options
    I'm a newbie, so please bear with me. I did my first spatchcock chicken yesterday. Grilled it at around 375degrees on direct heat for just over an hour. While the flavour was excellent, the bottom of the bird was charred. 
    Should I have put foil under the chicken?
  • txhawkeye
    txhawkeye Posts: 279
    Options
    I cook chicken in detect for the most part. Do you have a platesetter?
  • dldawes1
    dldawes1 Posts: 2,208
    Options
    I also cook spatchcock chickens indirect. Maybe others who spatch direct will give you more feedback.

Donnie Dawes - RNNL8 BBQ - Carrollton, KY  

TWIN XLBGEs, 1-Beautiful wife, 1 XS Yorkie

I'm keeping serious from now on...no more joking around from me...Meatheads !! 

• MrCookingNurse
    MrCookingNurse Posts: 4,665
    Options
    Need to do raised direct my friends.  Get the grate up and I usually do 425 for a spatch.   @Mickey

Yesterday I did two spatch's and did them indirect aroudn 300 just to have more of a smoke and I was chillin on the porch with my dad and neighbor watching golf too.  

XLBGE 
  • Biggreennessy
    Options